Stories & Poetry Forum
Art Forum
Movie/TV Reviews
Jokes & Games
Photos, Videos & Music Forum

Industry and aristocracy

User Thread
 75yrs • F •
A CTL of 1 means that cswriter is a contributing member of Captain Cynic.
Industry and aristocracy
I am going to start making threads that begin with a quot from Tocqueville's "Democracy in America". I am also making my own rule about post I will read and reply to, and post I will ignore. If someone writes on the subject, I will gladly read and respond. If someone writes about me, assuming what I think and what I know or do not know, or what I think is best, etc. I will ignore the post. In other words, write as though you were doing an assignment in school. No one tries to get a good grade by turning in a paper that tells the teacher everything he thinks is wrong with her, instead being focused on the subject. Not that I am a teacher, but neither am I willing to be the subject of attacks. I use the example of doing school papers, only so there is model of a good reply.

Tocqueville's book was published in 1835, when people worked 12 hour days or more, 7 days a week, and they did not have unions. Obviously things have improved since then, but really how much?

This is what Tocqueville has to say about "How an Aristocracy May Be Created by Manufactures"