If you don't understand my silence, you can't understand my words. - WanderingNobody
Captain Cynic Guides
Administrative Contact
Talk Talk
Philosophy Forum
Religion Forum
Psychology Forum
Science & Technology Forum
Politics & Current Events Forum
Health & Wellness Forum
Sexuality & Intimacy Forum
Product Reviews
Stories & Poetry Forum
Art Forum
Movie/TV Reviews
Jokes & Games
Photos, Videos & Music Forum

Perfectionism

User Thread
 32yrs • F •
Lexie19 is new to Captain Cynic and has less than 15 posts. New members have certain restrictions and must fill in CAPTCHAs to use various parts of the site.
Perfectionism
Hi, I am a college freshman and since I was a little girl have wanted to be perfect for my parents. The pressure has gotten to be too much. I am forcing myself to get a 4.0, be newspaper editor, President of 3 clubs, secretary and treasurer of a club, Public Relations of a bunch of clubs, a Student Ambassador (give tours, STAR call and lunch host for students thinking of coming to my school and do mock trial. The pressure is getting to be too much and when I think of not being perfect I shake and cry. I got a B on a quiz and started crying for 3 hours. Do I need counseling?

35yrs • F •
Liluk is new to Captain Cynic and has less than 15 posts. New members have certain restrictions and must fill in CAPTCHAs to use various parts of the site.
Lexie, do you think you need counseling? Do you think it's agood thing to want to be perfect for your parents? Do you think it's healthy to cry for hours over a B?

I would like to know more about how you feel about your parents and your perfection. Do your parents push you to do all the things you do or do you do it of your own free will?

Why do you want to be perfect? What satisfaction do you get?