Stories & Poetry Forum
Art Forum
Movie/TV Reviews
Jokes & Games
Photos, Videos & Music Forum

Social Engineering

User Thread
 75yrs • F •
A CTL of 1 means that cswriter is a contributing member of Captain Cynic.
Social Engineering
I am not a housewife. I am a domestic engineer.

This thread blooms out of the 'meaning of democracy' thread. While social engineering is most certainly germane to the subject of democracy, I think we need a better understanding of it to avoid arguments that were derailing that thread.

Since mankind first sat around the communal fire pit, social engineering has occurred (informal or housewife stage of social engineering). We can think of social engineering as public speaking, telling people what they need to know, and what they should or should not do. In an autocracy the power of the public speaker is backed by a fear of God or a police force (formal authority over others). In a democracy, the power of the public speaker rests the people's ability to reason (formal- people as authority, dependent on mass education in abstract thinking and logic).

In his 1899 book, William James says:

quote:
'If we reflect upon the various ideals of education that are prevalent in the different countries, we see that what they all aim at is to organize capacities for conduct. This is most immediately obvious in Germany, where the explicitly avowed aim of the higher education is to turn the student into an instrument for advancing scientific discovery.'