How can we be just in a world that needs mercy and merciful in a world that needs justice? - Robert Frost
Captain Cynic Guides
Administrative Contact
Talk Talk
Philosophy Forum
Religion Forum
Psychology Forum
Science & Technology Forum
Politics & Current Events Forum
Health & Wellness Forum
Sexuality & Intimacy Forum
Product Reviews
Stories & Poetry Forum
Art Forum
Movie/TV Reviews
Jokes & Games
Photos, Videos & Music Forum

Socratic and Platonic philosophies

User Thread
 36yrs • M
A CTL of 1 means that ChrisD is a contributing member of Captain Cynic.
I'm new to this forum. I have always had a general interest in philosophy and just recently I read more in depth, specifically, the lives of Socrates and Plato. Everything I found out about them was fascinating, just the Athens culture was fascinating. If anyone else shares an interest in these two philosophical legends, I would love to hear your takes on their theories. I am no expert in this feild, yet more of an aspiring philosopher. Also any suggestions on readings would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

"The truth will set you on fire"
 46yrs • M •
A CTL of 1 means that wizardslogic is a contributing member of Captain Cynic.
Well, I'm really interested in Plato's Theory of the Forms. I could tell you alot about my thoughts on his theory, but that would take a long time. But I am writing this paper for a philosophy class that is pretty much a system of logic related to this theory. It's something I've been working on since I was only 16 years old! I recently decided to actually put it together as concisely as I could for use in my thesis. I posted a rough draft of it online as a pretty crude web document for some friends to look at and comment on for me at:

http://www.angelfire.com/magic/wizardslogic/