Stories & Poetry Forum
Art Forum
Movie/TV Reviews
Jokes & Games
Photos, Videos & Music Forum

Online Masters Degree

User Thread
 53yrs • M •
Sable is new to Captain Cynic and has less than 15 posts. New members have certain restrictions and must fill in CAPTCHAs to use various parts of the site.
Online Masters Degree
Hello, I am new here and I am hoping that there might be someone here who has some experience or insight that might help my situation.

I am in my forties and I am looking for information about my options for obtaining a masters degree. See, I have not had an academic life for the last 15 years and have just made a personal decision to go back to the interests that I had when I was a young man. In my early twenties I completed an undergraduate degree, because of events in my life I was unable to pursue them further. And so, the social ties that I had to academia and academic people are long gone and I need new and current information anyway.

I won't state my academic area – sorry, I just prefer to keep that private. But I want to continue my education getting a masters degree in the same field that I did my undergraduate degree.

What options are available out there for completing a masters degree remotely? These days there seem to be online universities and colleges – and although I am researching about them myself, do any of you have experience with these? And what about the fees involved? Are there well known universities that provide online masters degree programs? Or are there different types of online based institutions which provide online courses?

Thank you in advance for any help that you give. This is such a large life decision for me and I want to make sure I go with the right option.

34yrs • M •
A CTL of 1 means that Timeless1 is a contributing member of Captain Cynic.