Stories & Poetry Forum
Art Forum
Movie/TV Reviews
Jokes & Games
Photos, Videos & Music Forum

Baptism (Fire, Spirit, Water) Whatever

User Thread
 64yrs • M •
A CTL of 1 means that okcitykid is a contributing member of Captain Cynic.
Some churches practice baptism by sprinking water on you when you are born or when you are of age. Others practice full emersion. The Pentocostal movement believes in Spiritual baptism. What exactly is baptism by fire?

I am not an expert, I do have my opinions, but will admit that I am lacking in this area.

There is no right or wrong answer here. Just share what you think, as so will I.

"A fool says I know and a wise man says I wonder."
 72yrs • M •
A CTL of 1 means that cturtle is a contributing member of Captain Cynic.
okcitykid, we seem to agree about a lot of our perceptions and the object of the analogy is to point out how careful we should be about accepting 'truths' that apparently state the same thing. Even the translation from one language during one period of time to the same language in another period of time has to deal with perceptions that don't relate due to change.
The old perception of 'One God' may not be simply the mono vs. poly-istic perception of GOD (of the Jews). That the GOD of the Jew is the same GOD as the Christian, as the Moslem, etc. That an Omi-Potent GOD can separate those who truly seek (worship) HIM from those who seek their own Godhead.
My niece recently went through the struggle of deciding which Church she would join. She had attended church with several faiths, and choose to become Catholic. I had talked with her, discussing differences between these faiths; my only admonishment to her was to seek GOD in Truth.
By the same token, I have heard "Christians" using the Old Testament to justify (their) war. Which I pointed out to them that if they wish to live under the Law, go and become a Jew.

"Terrorist or tyrant, few may come to the Truth that both are poor choice."
 64yrs • M •